It strikes again. Mental illness

It has been a loooong time since I have posted. Unfortunately that demon Mental illness has been ruling my family, my kids, and our lives. Constant chaos it causes. Constant uncertainty. My daughter, now 15, recently fell victim to that hellish demon of depression with a most recent suicide attempt.

This is her, once home from the hospital, singing. I can’t even imagine this sweet voice being silenced:

At 15, she said her heart hurt so much, the disgust she has for herself, her body, her thoughts and finally a breakup by her boyfriends sent her spiraling downward. Down into that hole of darkness that she felt had no light at the end. Thankfully, so very thankfully I had an inkling something was amiss, checked on her and the EMS was called.

This child, this beautiful girl of  mine, to feel so hopeless and helpless that nothing more she could do was to leave.

Leave.

Go.

End it all.

Depression is such an evil monster, playing tricks on our minds, our hopes and our rational thinking. Lucky for us, she has another chance and is embracing that opportunity. Millions more, every day, make this fatal choice and succeed. Their families and loved ones left with a hole that will never be filled. An ache so profound it never goes away. Thankfully for us, her friends and those that love her, this was one task she failed at !!! Thank you !

Did you know that Depression is THE most prevalent mental health disorder?

Treatment for depression is effective 60-80% of the time.

Four times more men than women kill themselves; BUT three times more women than men attempt suicide.

Depression is treatable.

For more information on suicide, depression and help see American Association of Suicidology

My daughters Idol has been Demi Lovato, teen star, actress, singer. Demi has come out admitting her struggles with depression, suicidal thoughts, eating disorder, and self esteem issues, and self harm. All of these evils my daughter also struggles with.

While in the hospital after her suicide attempt my daughter watched Demi videos, interviews and read a book by Demi constantly. She said Demi Lovato was her inspiration. I had already purchased tickets to take her to see Demi close to us, prior to this attempt, and the concert date was drawing near. Knowing how much my daughter loves her, and knowing that Demi could make a profound difference in my daughters life I had begun a  major attempt to arrange for us to get backstage to meet Demi Lovato. I called radio stations, newspapers, the arena where the concert was going to be, friends in media, and told them all my daughters story and how important this was. I called and emailed for  a month or two, but, no luck.

So, happy to be going to the concert, we packed up five days after her suicide attempt and had a road trip to Charlotte, NC to see Demi Lovato. As luck would have it (Or I prefer a God Thing) one of the managers of the Time Warner Arena that I had called, called me as we were in route. He said “I think I can help”

And he did.

He arranged us to be part of the “Meet and Greet” with Demi Lovato !! We got to be in on the sound check, and her answering questions and chatting with the small group, along with a few personal songs. Then, onto picture time. My daughter, and so  many other girls, all in tears, happily, thankfully, got to meet their idol too. Their life line. This, I will say, was my Best day ever !! Me, my girl, there, smiling, breathing, happy, thankful.

My daughter is now making changes, getting help and helping others. Reach out to her if you feel moved to @n0_boundaries

Me, Demi Lovato, my daughter, and her friend

Thank you Demi for being you, for saving so many girls, for sharing your story, for making my girl smile again !! Me, Demi Lovato, my daughter, and her friend

3 thoughts on “It strikes again. Mental illness

  1. thank you for the very personal post. My thirteen year old daughter also struggles with depression as have I for years. Unfortunately it has become a teen buzz word and so many times real depression is mistaken for teenagers wanting attention. My daughter has not gone over the edge, but I live in fear of it everyday. Demi Lovato is a great source of strength for girls. Promoting self image and self love. Kudos to her, and you for sharing your hardships.

  2. Oh Kim – you have had your struggles as has your family. You being THE ROCK is part of their solution and the blessing your bring to your family! I’m thinking of you, darlin’ – been there myself and still with one of my boys so I know!

Leave a Reply

